May 23, 2012

  • Tonight we are young

    There are moments of such pure, sublime, unparalleled perfection that they will force you to close your eyes and hold on to them as best you can. Life is a series of these moments. Everything else is just waiting for them.


    We live in a crazy world, and if you want to get through it with your body and soul even a little bit intact, you might as well be crazy yourself. It couldn’t hurt. And it just might help.


    I remember thinking sometimes we walk, sometimes we run away, but I know no matter how fast we are running, somehow we keep up with each other.


    We can’t help ourselves. We see a line, we want to cross it. Maybe it’s the thrill of trading the familiar for the unfamiliar. A sort of personal dare. The ony problem is, once you’ve crossed it’s almost impossible to go back.


    It’s not about who you’ve been with, it’s about who you end up with. Sometimes, the heart doesn’t know what it wants until it finds what it wants.


    People can call it passion. Or lust. Or Obsession. I don’t really care. When I’m with him, it’s the only time I feel completely alive. If you’ve never felt the power of that, then I feel sorry for you.


    We are all unkind from time to time. We all do things we desperately wish we could undo. Those regrets just become part of who we are, along with everything else. To spend time trying to change that, well, it’s like chasing clouds.


    There is a heartwrenching listless feeling that comes and you wander through the day, half of a person. I feel like every time I love someone I give them a part of myself and when things end, I hobble around for a while, missing limbs or an eye, a victim in the the long war we call love.


    People are always worried about what’s happening next. They often find it difficult to stand still, to occupy the now without worrying about the future. People are not generally satisfied with what they have; they are very concerned with what they are going to have.


    For a brief shining moment in my life I found everything that I could ever want wrapped up in something I could never have.


    I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow, but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing.


    It just ended. And no matter how much I try to forget that it had happened, it will have never not happened.


    The things that people in love do to each other they remember, and if they stay together it’s not because they forget, it’s because they forgive.


    Life is too short to be with someone who wasn’t quite right, someone who makes you think more than they made you feel.


    You can ask the universe for all the signs you want, but ultimately, we see what we want to see when we’re ready to see it.


    I felt sad, because I realized that once people are broken in certain ways, they can’t ever be fixed, and this is something that nobody ever tells you when you are young and it never fails to surprise you as you grow older as you see people in your life break one by one.


    Maybe I’m not the one that you hoped for, And you’re right, maybe I’ll never change. Maybe there’s not much here to love, but maybe you can love me anyway. Yeah but baby I love you, the best that I can. Well it might not be pretty, but it’s all that I am.


Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *